Respiratory Overlap

I’m a newbie here, but not new to xPAP devices. I’m on ASV now. My overlap syndrome, part COPD part pre-existing Central heavy and Complex Apnea, has taken a little step forward. My ASV therapy isn’t as good as it used to be. It seems I now need a device that has time controls that can be set. My research seems to indicate I’ll need a different machine. There are several that seem to fit. ResMed makes an AirCurve ST-A with iVAPS mode, a Stellar 100 & 150 which all 3 of these match my HCPCS code E0471 BPAP with backup rate. Then there’s ResMed Astral and Respironics Trilogy ventilator with HCPCS code E0466.

Any care to share some info about the overlap syndrome and suitable machines for therapy? Thanks.

You seem to be well versed on what’s available. I go with what the doctor tells me based upon what I tell them and keep it moving. Good luck and better sleep.

1 Like

HolyMoly, SarcasticDave94,
I’m on ASV (and also a ventilator certified nurse for 12 years) and you’re talking way over my head…! With the statistics of central sleep apnea being around 1% of people with sleep apnea, good luck finding someone that knows more about it than you do! Not a lot of individuals out there with what we’ve got…
KimR

1 Like

Are you using supplemental O2 when you sleep or during the day? Does your doctor think it might help?
Are the time controls needed because of decreasing tidal volume/minute vent? In this area I’m really ignorant so this answer would add to my understanding of the difference in need between an ASV type machine and an ST-A type machine.
I can’t speak to the costs associated with the machines you list but for the Respironics Trilogy, it seems that is a rental only machine no matter how long you have it or so a friend who has one tells me.
I hope things get under better control.