Hypopnea Events Too High Recently

Hi All - I am getting confused here. I have been using my CPAP for 5 months, and have been doing great overall. I found my mask was too big after about 6 - 7 weeks, and swapped out for a small one. My mask leakage went way down and is still low for the most part.

I have several autoimmune conditions besides sleep apnea, and I have been taking a mix of medications to control those conditions… Like Minocycline for Rheumatoid Arthritis, Pilocarpine for Sjogren’s, and Lunesta for Insomnia (from several of my conditions). I have also been taking codeine for pain (from the RA, Sjogren’s, etc.), but it seems to be causing me to hold fluid in my thighs. When I started comparing the pain from all of this mix, I decided that I need to pull out of some of them, at least for a while. I have so far quit (five days ago) the Minocycline, Pilocarpine and Lunesta, and am doing really well with sleeping (including my CPAP).

But, and this is the point of my ramble here, now my events are way up. During my sleep study, I was at 90 hypopnea events per hour. But, for the last five months, they have been at 7.30 average per hour. For the last three nights, they were 23.8, then 13.5 (and boy did I sleep great the night before last - it was wonderful), and then last night was 38.7 - the highest I’ve been since the sleep study. Does anyone have any idea what could be causing this? I wondered if it could be the withdrawal from the Lunesta? Just not sure where to look or what to try. I have a ResMed10, and it is auto setting (or at least claims it is), but the auto ramp is at 11 - the same level as the sleep study. Help! I would like to avoid another doctors appointment if I can - As you can imagine, I have a lot of them as it is. Thanks so much!

I would not quit any prescribed medication without consulting my doctor. Did you do this on your own? Aren’t you worried?
Perhaps you should also ask your doctor about another kind of pain med. Good luck!