Distilled Water

I didn’t notice until I looked in the cabinet that I am out of distilled water. I ran to the only store in our small town and they are out. Everything else within a 20 mile radius is closing at 10. So what do I do? How bad will I hurt my machine if I use tap water for one night?

Hi Mary, there are two reasons I can think of that it’s important to use distilled water in your CPAP (though I’m not a doctor, nor do I have any special knowledge or training in CPAP):

1. Risk of infection.

There’s all kinds of stuff swimming around inside ordinary water and some of it could be dangerous to breathe in. I believe this is an extremely low risk and I’m not sure there’s ever been a case of someone getting seriously ill from this, but it’s not entirely out of the question. If you don’t have any distilled water around, you can always boil some water to use in your CPAP (of course, let it cool before adding it to your machine). I’ve used ordinary tap water a number of times without incident and I don’t lose sleep (figurative or literal) over it.

1. Contamination of the CPAP machine

This is the main reason to use distilled water. The minerals in ordinary water can accumulate in your CPAP machine over time and interfere with its operation. However, this is a problem over a long period of time. I’ve used tap water in my machine probably a hundred times over the 5+ years I’ve been on CPAP and it’s still running fine. So I wouldn’t worry too much about it if you’re using distilled water 90% of the time or more.

You can distill water yourself if you really want to. Google can provide you instructions, it’s not difficult but it’s kind of a pain in the rear!

Hope this is helpful.

Jim